Three Connecticut Entities Named To ‘Dirty Dozen’ List

Nov 28th, 2012 | By | Category: Featured Story

The Toxics Action Center released its annual “Dirty Dozen Awards” Tuesday, naming three Connecticut companies among the 12 worst polluters in New England.

The action center has issued the awards for the past 25 years, targeting companies that the regional nonprofit considers to be a threat to public and environmental health. This year, the Connecticut Resources Recovery Authority, Connecticut Environmental Council, and the Raymark Superfund Site in Stratford made the list.

At a Hartford press conference, Toxics Action Center Community Organizer Jonathan Leibovic said all the companies named have failed to adapt to the environmental standards of the times.

For more on this story, visit: CT News Junkie | Three Named To ‘Dirty Dozen’ List.

Also: From Toxics Action Center:

To choose this year’s Dirty Dozen Awards, Toxics Action Center staff received nominations from community activists and concerned citizens directly affected by pollution and toxic threats. These were sites that demonstrated a serious and repeated threat to public health and the environment, and they also included notable emerging threats to human health and the environment across the region. More than 60 nominations were reviewed by Toxics Action Center staff who chose 25 sites to present to the selection committee. The final 12winners were chosen by the selection committee, consisting of 14 legal, environmental, public and workerhealth and safety experts. Their names and affiliations, added for identification purposes only, are listed below:
·  Anne Hulick, Coordinator, Coalition for a Safe and Healthy Connecticut
·  Danny Faber, Professor of Sociology, Northeastern University
·  David Brown, Public Health Toxicologist, Environment and Human Health, Inc.
·  Dick Clapp, Adjunct Professor, Environment and Human Health, UMass Lowell
·  Doug Ruley, Director, Environment and Natural Resources Law Clinic, Vermont Law School
·  Jamie Rhodes, Rhode Island Director, Clean Water Action
·  Jonathan Peress, Vice President and Director of Clean Energy and Climate Change, Conservation Law Foundation
·  Mark Mitchell, Principal, Mitchell Environmental Health Associates and Founder, Connecticut Coalition for Environmental Justice
·  Mary Booth, Founder, Partnership for Policy Integrity
·  Paul Burns, Executive Director, VPIRG
·  Paul Morse, Project Director, UMass Lowell
·  Sean Mahoney, Vice President and Director, Maine Advocacy Center, Conservation Law Foundation
·  Sylvia Broude, Executive Director, Toxics Action Center

Be Sociable, Share!
Tags: ,

Leave a Comment